Costa Rica: No Anomalies in Presidential Election

0

EspañolToday, Costa Ricans went to the polls to choose their next president and 57 representatives to join the National Assembly for the 2014-2018 term.

All the candidates at least were able to get out and vote without complications, and no major confrontations or obstacles arose for constituents. According to Costa Rica’s Supreme Elections Tribunal (TSE), the majority of the 2,115 polling booths opened at 6 a.m. CST (7 a.m. EST) as planned. The only slight discrepancy was two booths opening late.

By 8 p.m. CST, the TSE plans to release the first update with provisional results. Afterwards, the TSE will release an update every 15 minutes, right through the night, until noon on Monday. The provisional results will be available in real time via the TSE website.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

The winner of the election will receive final confirmation once all ballots have been subject to a count by hand. That process could extend until the last week of February, according to Luis Antonio Sobrado, president of the TSE.

Sources: Prensa Libre and La Nación.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special reports delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time