Argentina Assumes Rotating Helm of UN Security Council


“Argentina will take the Presidency” of the fifteen-member UN Security Council, the country’s official news agency, Télam, has reported.

A Foreign Ministry communiqué said Argentina assumes the rotating position for one month and plans to: “strengthen the organism within a context where the international community seeks to answer several challenges that recently have claimed many victims.”

Argentina became a non-permanent member for the 2013-2014 term resulting from “unanimous” support among Latin-American and Caribbean countries in the General Assembly.

The United States, the United Kingdom, Russia, China, and France hold permanent seats. Other Non-permanent members for the current two-year term are Guatemala, Togo, Morocco, Rwanda, Republic of Korea, Pakistan, Azerbaijan, Australia, and Luxembourg.

Source: Télam. Read More »

Subscribe free to our daily newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special reports delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time