Honduras: Free Marketeers Dominate ZEDEs Leadership

In the latest issue of La Gaceta, the Honduran government has revealed the 21 members of the Committee for Adoption of Best Practices for the Zones for Employment and Economic Development (ZEDEs). These individuals will oversee the creation and management of the special governance zones, currently slated for two southern departments in the Central American nation.

This list — in alphabetical order below — includes prominent figures from across the American continent. Grover Norquist of Americans for Tax Reform, Alejandro Chafuen of the Atlas Economic Research Foundation, and Mark Skousen, who once led the Foundation for Economic Education, are among those more widely known.

One member, Mark Klugmann, has written on the case for the ZEDEs, which he calls LEAP zones, with the PanAm Post.

“With an integrated LEAP strategy,” he says, “Central America could soon become — as southern China has been — the fastest growing economic region in the world.”

Michael Strong, a long-time advocate for startup cities and chief executive of Radical Social Entrepreneurs, has also commented that this will be “probably the most free market governing entity in modern history — great for attracting entrepreneurs and capital to Honduras.”

Committee for the Adoption of Best Practices (CAMP): Salem Ben Nasser Al-Ismaily, Kakha Bendukidze, Ricardo Leonel Cardona López, Morton Blackwell, Alejandro Chafuen, Lars Seier Christensen, Alex Cranberg, Ebal Jair Diaz Lupian, Enrique Ghersi, Barbara Kolm, Mark Klugmann, Ricardo Rodolfo Maduron Joest, Grover Norquist, Octavio Rubén Sánchez Barrientos, Surse Pierpoint, Richard Rahn, Michael Reagan, Mark Skousen, Loren Smith, Gabriela Von Habsburg, Faith Whittlesey.

Subscribe free to our daily newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special reports delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time