Daniel Ortega to Seek Nicaraguan Presidency for Seventh Time

Critics accused Ortega of not following聽electoral customs. (El Nuevo Diario)

Espa帽olSandinista Representative聽Jacinto Suarez said President Daniel Ortega will聽be the聽Frente Sandinista de Liberaci贸n Nacional’s (FSLN) official candidate for the seventh time.

“Daniel Ortega is the candidate and there will be no others,” said Suarez, an old-guard politician of the FSLN and Ortega鈥檚 personal friend.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

The decision will be ratified on May 18 in the聽Sandinista Assembly. Nicaragua’s three governmental bodies will merge for the campaign, Suarez said, meaning that the electoral and ratification process will be carried out in the聽Sandinista Council, the Sandinista Assembly and聽Congress.

Suarez reiterated that “union leaders support Daniel鈥檚 candidacy and are all clear that Daniel Ortega is the candidate.”

Sandinista representative聽Maritza Espinales also supported聽Ortega’s presidential candidacy. Other Sandinista representatives聽like Evert C谩rcamo, Filiberto Rodriguez and Jose Antonio Zepeda have not declared Ortega the presidential candidate, but fully support his candidacy.

Six months聽until聽elections,聽and聽no announcements

Usually, elections are聽called a year in advance but the 2016 election broke that tradition.

There are聽only six months remaining until聽the start of elections for president, vice president, national deputies and the Central American Parliament (PARLACEN), but no one has convened or made official announcements except Ortega.

The election should take place this year on the first Sunday of November. But first, a departmental and municipal electoral process has to be carried out, along with a number of accreditations requiring at least nine months’ time, said former President of the Electoral Council聽Rosa Marina Zelaya.

Election No. Seven

This will聽be the seventh time that Daniel Ortega runs聽as an FSLN presidential candidate. In 1980, Ortega was part of the Sandinista Revolution’s first Board of Governors . In 1984, he was nominated for president the first time. He was defeated by Violeta Barrios de Chamorro in 1990, by Arnoldo Aleman in 1996 and Enrique Bola帽os in 2001. In 2006, he won against a divided opposition.

Source: La Prensa.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special reports delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time